Jana-Gana-Mana, an inspiring song composed by the great poet, Rabindra Nath Tagore is the national anthem of India. The complete song consists of five stanzas, but only the first stanza is our national anthem. The song in Bengali was first published under the title “Bharat Vidhata” in a magazine of which Rabindra Nath Tagore was the editor. The poet himself translated it into English under the title “The Morning Song of India”. Soon after the independence, on 15 August 1947, a need for national anthem was felt. The Indian delegation to the United Nations was asked for its national anthem, which was to be played on a particular occasion. As no official anthem was there, a record of Jana-Gana-Mana was handed over. The song was picked up and played by the UN orchestra as it was greatly acclaimed by all. It was adopted as our national anthem on 24 January 1950. The national anthem is played on Republic Day and Independence Day every year at the time of hoisting the national flag. It is also played at the national salute given to the President of India, Governors of states and visiting foreign heads. It is also played on all ceremonial occasions in fields as diverse as sports, culture and education. In schools, it is sung in morning assembly. At the end of public function also, it is sung. The national anthem should be completed within 52 seconds. While singing the anthem we should stand in attention position.